top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureP. Graham Dunn

REFRESH. RENEW. REUSE.

Updated: Feb 4, 2020

We are one month into the new decade! The New Years resolutions are slowly fading but one thing you can continue to keep up with is decluttering your home. According to Punxsutawney Phil, spring (and spring cleaning) are on the way! I’m here to offer simple suggestions to problem areas of your home with absolutely no pressure! I will admit, I am an avid organizer and decluttering guru but you by no means have to be! You can start slow, purge, and make things visually appealing in the process. Follow along if you are in the season of eliminating excess and desperately need a friend to guide you.


Start Small

Choose an area in your home that doesn’t come with much attachment, like the bathroom! I do not recommend beginning your decluttering journey going through your kiddos art projects over the years because let’s face it, you will get stuck going down memory lane and never reroute yourself! Throwing out old lotion and a million contact cases takes very little will power. 😉


Get Creative

If you have a small bathroom like I do, consider utilizing vertical space. I used to own a small cabinet that sat to the left of my pedestal sink and it was constantly being rummaged through by little fingers which made me crazy, if I’m being honest. So, one of my most recent organizational changes was hanging a simple shelf with decorative baskets above the sink to keep my bathroom necessities out of reach. Best thing I ever did and oddly draws the eye up, creating a more visually interesting space, making the room feel larger! Win, win!


Neutralize + Coordinate

When selecting organizational storage solutions, choose like items with a neutral color palette. You may also consider enclosed baskets or bins to hide the clutter of your items. Before visiting your favorite stores, shop your house to see if you can reuse items you already own. I was able to consolidate a few things and use baskets I already had without having to spend a penny!




Grace

And finally, give yourself some grace. Even for someone who has been decluttering for several years, I still have a way to go. If this is your first time tackling the mess, count any progress as success. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed when you really confront the problem areas in your home. The good news is, you have plenty of time to chip away at each space and can always revisit that junk drawer down the road to purge more. Make a list of each area you need to tackle and spend 30 minutes to an hour each day versus taking on everything at once to avoid getting discouraged.

You’ve got this!


Xoxo,

Allie

457 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page